The Coon Law Firm, PLLC is located in the Jackson area of Mississippi and is dedicated to defending its clients in DUI cases. We provide an attorney that gives you and your case the specialized attention required to effectively fight for your rights.
Mississippi DUI Laws
In Mississippi, there is one crime that encompasses driving while intoxicated by any substance be it drugs or alcohol. It is the crime of driving under the influence or DUI. The penalties for a DUI conviction in the state of Mississippi and elsewhere around the country have become more and more harsh over the years. If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI, there are potentially severe consequences and it is highly advisable that you contact an attorney as soon as possible. The information below is not intended to be a substitute for the advice of an attorney licensed in the state of Mississippi. Please contact The Coon Law Firm, PLLC today if you have been accused of DUI or if you have any questions regarding the information below.
Any amount of illegal drugs (schedule one narcotics) detected in your body will qualify you as intoxicated under the laws of Mississippi. For alcohol, the test for determining if someone is intoxicated is their “blood alcohol content” or BAC. If a persons BAC is at or above the legal limit, that persons is deemed to be intoxicated under Mississippi criminal law. There are three different legal limits and they are shown below:
|Defendant is ….||BAC|
|Under the age of 21||.02%|
|21-years-old or older||.10%|
DUI Conviction Consequences
- DUI convictions stay on driving record for 5 years and stay on your criminal record for life.
- First-time offender faces a minimum suspended license period of 90 days (possibility of hardship licensed after 30 days)
- You may need to purchase high risk auto insurance called SR–22 insurance and failure to obtain it may result in a suspended license.
- A DUI conviction can affect your employment because your license suspended.
- A DUI conviction can unnecessarily place burdens on your family and friends
- Each conviction increases the severity of potential punishment in any future DUI charges.
- A second conviction of DUI carries mandatory jail time.
Implied Consent Law
In Mississippi the refusal to submit to a breathalyzer or other chemical test to determine blood alcohol content (BAC) automatically results in a temporary suspended license. Thus, refusal to submit to a sobriety test can result in a longer period of license suspension. If there is sufficient probable cause and the sobriety test is refused, an individual can be charged with common law DUI. The refusal to submit to a sobriety test is admissible against the defendant at their trial for DUI.
DUI Charges: Defending Yourself and Protect Your Rights
The punishments for DUI convictions have become more and more harsh over time. You need an attorney to help you protect your rights and defend you against DUI charges. Do not go it alone. There are many technicalities that might affect the outcome of your case. What type of test was administered? When was the test administered? Was there a reason for pulling you over? What did the officer say? If you arrested for DUI, be sure to make a log as soon as possible that records everything that happened before during and after your arrest. Even the details that might seem unimportant could make a big difference in your case and the only way you will know what facts are important is by contacting an attorney.
Contact The Coon Law Firm, PLLC Today
If you have been arrested for DUI, call The Coon Law Firm, PLLC and speak to an attorney today. Do not settle for an attorney that will speak with you twice and go to court without taking the time to get to know you or understand your case. William C. Coon takes the time to talk to his clients and will give your case the special attention that it deserves. Contact us today and talk to an attorney that will listen to you and fight for your cause.